Hacking 10 Fast Fingers

I resisted the temptation quite long. But now I did it. I guess you know 10 fast fingers. If not, check it out, it is quite addictive. As I competed with my coworkers yesterday and utterly lost. I made it. A little bit jQuery and voila I am the fastest (along with the other cheaters). Here is the code:

Simply add it to your favorite browsers JavaScript console line by line and wait till the clock ticks down … you could include a timer to get more realistic results … I am ashamed!

Update:

Here is a one line version with a timer. Actually set to 500ms. This results in around 120wpm:

Further stuff:

I guess you like or are intrigued by speed typing, So you might be interested in alternative keyboard layouts. Switching forces you to really learn touch typing, because it doesn’t help anymore to look at the keyboard. For native English speakers I guess Dvorak is still the state of the art. For Germans I can recommend Neo2. If you are even interested in making yourself a custom keyboard take a look here.

22 thoughts on “Hacking 10 Fast Fingers

    1. Dirk Porsche says:

      In your browsers JavaScript console.

      In Chrome: View -> Developer -> Developer-Tools

      (Might be a slightly different wording, I have Chrome only with the German interface)

      Other browsers provide similar things with extensions. Firebug for Firefox for example. Don’t know about IE.

  1. roger says:

    Thanks for this, is it possible to do it seeing(view) the words beeing writed in that inputfield? I mean word by word beein writed in the inputfield to make it more realistic.

    1. Dirk Porsche says:

      Yes. I would have to enter the current word letter by letter into the inputfield and put some delay between each.

      If I find some time, I will give it a try.

  2. Roger says:

    I was talking about the text titled “Questions”, one of the questions is “What is your Dream Job?” then i see some post talking about facebook (that is boring), My question was if you response that questions.

  3. Roger says:

    Yes, you answer.
    I am studying html, java, i would like to do hacking things like this. You learn this by simply studying java or you have to study other stuff more enfocated to hacking?

    1. Dirk Porsche says:

      Well, I looked at many languages, libraries and stuff. But for web page “hacking” JavaScript, HTML, CSS and some of the major libraries, e.g. jQuery, should be enough to get you started. But I learned much along the way.

  4. Roger says:

    What is the purpose of this page? generate traffic? I saw a statistic of visits, so I ask.
    sharing information for free?
    Or somehow make money through this?

    1. Dirk Porsche says:

      I started with sharing information about making a keyboard from scratch.

      I continued because it was fun.

      Sharing for free is still the main factor. I believe in the idea, that information should be freely accessible.

      Another purpose is to get better at written English. I plan to write my master thesis in English, and a little practice is a good thing. Even if the writing here is different in nature, much less formal, you know.

      Yet another purpose is to build some reputation / show case in case I have/want to engage a new employer.

  5. Roger says:

    I also like to write in english, since it’s not my primary language.

    I believe in the same idea, but in this case I’m not sure if this information is good. For the developer of 10fastfingers is not really good. He must improve his code to avoid this. But maybe is good to make improvements in security?

    Congratulations on that, you’ll be an engineer in systems?

    The last paragraph do not understand. You mean have good reputation to get a better job?

    1. Dirk Porsche says:

      I’m native German speaker, English is my second language, if you will. I’ve been in Michigan for a semester, back when I was pursuing my Diplom.

      Actually I don’t think the developer of 10fastfingers must act on this. You know, there are people that want to improve the writing speed and there are those that want to boast a bit. Just let them. Who cares?

      I guess it’s very very hard to come up with a solution that blocks everything out and is still somewhat usable. I guess it’s not worth the effort. After all this is a fun page, not something someone might take very serious, or?

      Master of Science in Wirtschaftsinformatik (business informatics). I don’t know if there is a corresponding course in other countries. In Germany it is quite common.

      Yes. In case I have to switch. Or I can’t stand it any longer where I work now and want to. Many employers like some prove, that you have some experience. And well, this way I can prove it, that I have done a lot of things.
      My current job is actually quite different. I work at a project management office, and my main tasks are helping and tutoring project managers as well as administer and enhance our project portfolio management solution.

  6. Roger says:

    I think is the career “network marketing” here. I saw some post of Bill Gates that he recommended that career to have success.
    Do you like Bill Gates and Paul Allen?

    1. Dirk Porsche says:

      I don’t know them personally, but I’m no fan of Microsoft, and as they are responsible for it, I don’t like them either. I’m more with Stallman and Torvalds.

  7. Alfarez says:

    How to bypass Anti-Cheat System 10fastfingers? I tried that anti-cheat and only unlocked 150 wpm, means that i get result 126 wpm+ at anti cheat.

    I want more, cuz when i tired, i want to use cheat

Leave a Reply

