R.I.P.

My MacBook is no more. Last night it has send Indian smoke signals into the stratosphere. I don’t understand those, but I guess their meaning was: “Fuck off asshole! I quit!”

I smoked the logic board with my latest repairing attempt. I will spare you the ugly details, but in case you come across a similar situation, I can teach you certain things you should and shouldn’t do:

  • Be very very gentle to the logic board connectors. They can be removed quite easy. If they don’t come out easily, you should check if their is a securing bracket. At least the keyboard, the keyboard-backlight and the display connectors have securing facilities.
  • Don’t try to glue a socket that has fallen apart. The glue gets sucked into the socket and then the male connector won’t fit anymore.
  • Don’t try to remove the glue with a razor blade. You will cut yourself, and you will further damage the socket.
  • Don’t connect anything to a broken socket, when the contacts are freely floating in the air. You will short some contacts and that might lead to a glowing and smoking resistor on the main board.

Actually I figured, that only the keyboard was screwed and could have been replaced. Last time I checked you could get one for around 50€.

So as I’m waiting for the new MacBook to arrive I’m still feeling quite amputated. A cook without knives. A tailor without scissors. A blacksmith without hammers.

4 thoughts on “R.I.P.

Leave a Reply

